top of page

Kill Your Darlings (2013)

Well, it’s not boring.


I was sucked into Allen Ginsberg’s (Daniel Radcliffe) obsessive emotional spiral around magnetic but dysfunctional classmate Lucien Carr (Dane DeHaan). I wouldn’t say it was terribly fun to watch, but it is fascinating and a bit terrifying. It always feels like one or more characters are heading toward the edge.


There’s a great cast. The conclusion feels earned. I can’t say how true to reality the account is, but it felt grounded. I wouldn’t watch it a second time, but if it seems up your alley, I’d suggest giving it a shot. Worth seeing just to realize the title pun. Hah!


Content warning: violence, death, domestic abuse, homophobia


Plot: 6

Characters: 6

Themes: 6

Spectacle: 6

Overall score: full marks after expulsion.


See better reviews at:


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page