top of page

Ratatouille: What The Chef Threw Out

Ratatouille is incessantly stupid, and I hated just about every minute of it. The only thing I can find to recommend about the whole project is its technical animation, which does deserve the chef’s kiss. Unfortunately, this is a storytelling medium, and being a really good GIF just doesn’t cut it.


The narrative is brittle-as-bird-bone and the characters are some of the worst I’ve seen in animation. I didn’t find one individual to like or empathize with in the entire film, and the majority were intolerable. Each character is played with their cartoon levels all the way up past Robin Williams, but with none of the charm necessary to pull that off. Instead, the audience is gifted with a cast of idiots who can't see the obvious and consistently make decisions that are as selfish as they are stupid.


Beyond the art and aesthetics, I'm not sure what exactly people were impressed about when this movie came out. For me, it's a huge disappointment. My kid liked it, so I begrudgingly give it one small point for that, but I can’t say I recommend it to anyone else.


Content warning: sexual assault framed as romance


Plot: 2

Characters: 0

Themes: 3

Spectacle: 8

Overall score: enough traps for an entire family of rats.


See better reviews at:


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page